Ensenada, Mexico

Ensenada was the final port in our first Pacific Coast cruise. I love being in port everyday with no sea days, but the tendering process for crew has been terrible. We sometimes have to wait at least 4 hours to get off the ship. Hardly seems worth it to be on land for maybe 1 hour. I hope next week goes better. Next week we have another overnight in San Francisco and I’m hoping to do a nighttime tour of Alcatraz. How creepy would that be?!

Today Jairus and I went into Ensenada and had some carnitas tacos and cokes from a little shack on the corner of a busy street. I thought it was going to be the most amazing tacos ever because the best authentic food comes from places like these. They chopped up every part of the pig, I mean EVERY part. After we got our 3 taco combo with a Mexican coke for $4.50, a couple of ladies carried out a big iron bucket in front of us as a refill full of pig slop. There we’re slabs of fat, intestines, tongues, snouts, everything. The locals love it, but halfway through my first taco, I couldn’t do it! The salsa was so hot, the hottest I’ve ever tasted. I admit defeat! I need my Americanized Mexican food. Please and thank you! No matter how worldly I think I am, there are some things I can’t get used to! Pig intestine is one of them.

We wandered about a bit and got Nutella crepes and Starbucks frappacinos to wash down the pig.

So that’s Mexico. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Ensenada, Mexico

  1. Reminds me of my time in the Dominican Republic….great food prices…and that sugar cane squeezed juice over ice! Able to leap over 12 taxicabs in a single bound (I was and am a diabetic)! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

